Red Dead Reaction

Last week Rockstar finally announced an upcoming sequel to the critically acclaimed Red Dead Redemption.  A few days after the announcement, they teased us even more by sharing this glorious trailer for it:



Wasn’t that just the prettiest thing?

As much as I love Rockstar’s Grand Theft Auto series, for my money, Red Dead Redemption had a more interesting setting and story.  So it’s fair to say that you can colour me excited for this one.

However, I must confess that I’m a little disappointed they’ve opted to call it Red Dead Redemption 2.  This is just me being particularly picky but I felt that plastering a “2” on the end was a tad lazy.

I know why they did it, or at least I have a good idea.  With RDR being such a colossal hit it makes sense that Rockstar would keep the name for its value.  That’s fine. My only objection is that Redemption itself was a sequel to Red Dead Revolver.  I know that the stories are unrelated, but I felt that “Red Dead” was a sufficient title for the series, with the alliterative third word signifying a new chapter.

My nit-picking aside, I’m not alone in my excitement for this game.

Very few details have been released thus far which opens the door for much speculation.  All we know for certain is the title and the vague “Fall 2017” release date.  Considering the amount of effort that Rockstar puts into polishing their games, I would expect that date to be pushed back at some point.

PC gamers may feel aggrieved due to the fact that it’s only been announced for Xbox One and PlayStation 4.  Hopefully, with the success of GTA V on the platform, we’ll eventually see RDR 2 on PC.  It’d be nice if we could get the first one as well, preferably in the form of a shiny new HD update.  A man can dream.

It would be a surprise to me if Redemption 2 wasn’t a prequel.  After all, the previous one was set during the death throes of the Wild West.  Setting this one deep within the time period of the American Frontier – as opposed to the automobile age – would make much more sense.

The first Red Dead Redemption followed the story of former outlaw John Marston, struggling to put his past behind him.  Maybe this sequel will explore that time of Marston’s life?  It would allow us to once again step into the shoes of a widely-loved character that was excellently portrayed by Rob Wiethoff.

Wiethoff, however, hasn’t done any acting or voice work since 2013.  This could be interpreted in one of two ways; either he has retired completely or he has been kept busy with a secret project for the last three years …

Here’s hoping it’s the latter.

Anyway, this is all pure speculation on my part.  The only thing that I’m certain about is that Rockstar will once again empty my wallet.

And I couldn’t be happier about that.

 

Leave a Reply

